2nd DUI
  • Our Mission
    We've committed our practice to offering the best service possible.
  • Do You Have Questions?
    We've included several answers to common questions here.
  • Free Consultation
    There's no reason to not get help. Contact us today to discuss your case.

2nd DUI in Lawrenceville

Penalties for 2nd DUI in Gwinnett County

It is unlawful to operate a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or other drugs (both legal and illegal) that can impair your ability to drive. In Georgia and all other states across the nation it's against the law to drive with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or greater. For commercial drivers it's against the law to drive with a BAC of .04% and that threshold goes down to just .02% for drivers below the age of 21.

In Georgia, you can be arrested and convicted for DUI for both an alcohol related offense and a drug-related offense. This means, you can be convicted of DUI even if you were driving under the influence of a lawfully prescribed medication. This is especially true of anti-anxiety medications and heavy pain killers. In Georgia, the penalties for a second DUI offense are as follows:

  • From 3 days to 12 months in jail
  • Fines ranging between $600 and $1,000
  • 3 Years driver's license suspension
  • 30 days minimum community service
  • Completion of a Risk Reduction Program
  • Undergo a clinical evaluation for alcohol abuse

Why hire a lawyer?

Your driving privileges are critical for getting to and from work and if you have children, you need to drive them to and from school and to other activities. What's more, having two DUIs on your criminal record can make it exceedingly difficult to obtain employment, which could affect your ability to care for yourself and your family.

At the Law Office of Robert L. Booker, we have extensive experience in defending clients against DUI all throughout Gwinnett County. There are several defenses to DUI charges which could have a positive impact on the outcome of your DUI case. Remember, you have just 10 days from the date of your arrest to schedule an administrative hearing at the Department of Driver Services (DDS) to challenge your license suspension. It's extremely important that you attend this hearing with a Lawrenceville DUI attorney from our firm. Failure to schedule and attend this hearing will result in a license suspension, and we want to avoid this consequence at all costs.

What Sets Us Apart

Our team of skilled and understanding professionals proudly provides comprehensive and efficient services for all Clients.

  • Free Case Evaluations
  • Driven to Produce the Best Results
  • Highly Recommended by Clients
  • Experienced & Effective
  • Prompt & Professional
  • Track Record of Not Guilty Verdicts